The Cupcake Wars

cupcakes

The vanilla ones are from a mix (cinnamon flavored) and NOT as smooth

I never in a million years thought that the cupcakes I made for my daughter with Celiac is what my other children would be begging to eat, fighting each other for the very last one. Naturally, it took a few tries (with various other recipes) to get that not-so-grainy, weird texture that a lot of gluten-free products end up tasting/feeling like. A friend of my mom passed me an AMAZING gluten-free recipe for chocolate cupcakes that I have passed on and on and on, and keep getting great feedback.

One friend said she baked the batter in a loaf pan and it was even better!

There are so many variations for toppings, just like ‘regular’ cupcakes, but the first time I served these, I also had fresh strawberries and whipped cream as an accompaniment. Nothing, absolutely nothing was left.

I’m thinking I want to try making this recipe in a loaf pan, with a sugar glaze and chocolate jimmies…man, I am salivating even as I type this.

These were fudgy but beware, not all ingredients are equal. I substituted Nutella for a gluten-free chocolate spread (also to be dairy-free), one time it worked and another time – with a different gluten-free brand they sunk – were so pathetic-looking, yet, to my surprise still were eaten to the last crumb.

cupcake

The last of the birthday cupcakes

For my daughter’s 9th birthday I decided to bake these cupcakes for the 40 children in her class, adding a butter-cream frosting and fondant confetti. Only 2 children rejected them *but the teachers were happy to take them off my hands! Another friend of mine used this recipe but soon realized in the process that she was short on chocolate so she supplemented peanut-butter and sent me a photo – so so good – who doesn’t love the chocolate-peanut-butter combo? YUM!

So here you go, enjoy!

GLUTEN-FREE CHOCOLATE CHOCOLATE CHIP CUPCAKES

makes 10-12 large

  • 1 cup gluten-free chocolate spread
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons potato starch
  •  70 grams chocolate chips
  • cocoa powder
Fill a cupcake pan with liners, coat each liner with cooking spray and then dust the bottoms with a little cocoa powder. Using a mixer combine the eggs and chocolate spread of choice, adding the potato starch slowly and mix well. Add chocolate chips.  Fill cupcake papers half way. Bake at 185°C or 160°F for about 12 minutes. Center should be gooey when tested with a knife.
One comment

Tell Me What You Think...

