Not-1, Not-2, Not-3 ~ Counting My Blessings

As an 18 yr. old I heard my friend get phone call after call about all the fun things happening in her family of 7 (not including nieces and nephews).  I wanted to be a part of something bigger too. I myself wanted lots of kids and imagined having simcha after simcha, like some of my friends with lots of siblings.

https://i1.wp.com/loveforliana.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/Cartoon-family-holding-hands.jpg

When I dated, it was not one of the qualities I searched for. Man with lots of siblings? Check. In fact, the majority of guys I dated had maybe 1 or 2 siblings. When dating it’s important to look for what you’ll want in the long run. I was lucky I got what I was looking for. When I started dating my spouse it wasn’t really something I had even considered. With age comes wisdom. When I knew it was the real thing, I was excited to be gaining 3 older sisters. I was a little sad that they were most 10 years older than me and I was concerned that we wouldn’t connect. To my surprise, give or take a year after we married I found out that we ALL were expecting babies. Yaaaay! There were always get-togethers for chagim and shabbatot and it was great that my flower girl went to school around the corner from our apartment. I started to feel that I was a part of something bigger.

Pesach was fabulous. Hustle and bustle and everyone took part of something for making the chag just perfect. Kids everywhere, joyous happy laughter and smiles abundant plus food glorious food that never tasted any better, even though it was non-gebrachts. Sure I had a newborns at every simcha where I spent the majority of the time nursing.  Sure I spent entire days nursing in the shul bathrooms or on the 3rd floor but I enjoyed the gathering, the laughter, the hugs. I was still a part of something really fun. Now almost 10 years later I can say we are entering that fun phase of being able to host the simchas.

This year is all party after party. Weddings, Babies, Engagements, an 80th Birthday, a 40th birthday, a Bar Mitzvah, a Bat Mitzvah, Weddings, more Bat Mitzvahs! We are excited to rack up our frequent-flyer miles and dance our hearts out. We are thrilled to host everyone who is flying in for us. We are pumped to be able to spend so much quality time together.

When I first got married I had a wish-list of things I wanted before I turned 30. I was lucky/fortunate to have been granted all my wishes. Now almost a decade later, I should probably make a new one. Hmmm, what should I wish for? It would be cool if someone created a portable liposucker…you could do a little at a red light lets say for moms-on-the-go.  Imagine it, red light, brake. Flip the mirror down. Grab the ‘liposucker’. Remove double chin. Done! Picture perfect. Green light. Well, here is something I found that fit both my criteria. Busy mom? Multitask-type gifts. I found some of these on a worst gifts list. As IF! Here are my top 5. I’ve got a big birthday coming up but save your fancy ideas for someone else’s big shebang because these top 5 purchases all together may cost less than 100$.microphone tongs

Microphone Salad Tongs. I love this woman’s expression too. If I had these, I could belt out Adele’s songs while making salad and maybe actually eat the salad, because it would be fun to make it! They are slightly impractical because you can’t sing with a mouth full of lettuce or sing while serving, but still. I would love them.

Or what about this? Banana GuardThe Banana Guard. No one likes a mushy banana, period. Someone once gave me a plastic hot dog warmer. No joke. This is practical, inexpensive and quite brilliant.

Ogilvie Home Perm, For Color-Treated Hair - 1 eaAnother fabulous idea would be to give me the Ogilvie Home Perm. I would totally try it. For a salon style I can do in the comfort of my own home? This item retails at 4$. That’s it for bouncy, shiny long-lasting curls? Plus it now comes with a drip guard. I’m sold.

I was never the type to wear my babies. https://i2.wp.com/likecool.com/Gear/Baby/Peekaru/Peekaru.jpgI’ve had back surgery so I wasn’t gonna’ start wearing them thereby adding extra weight. However, that being said, if someone would have purchased me this Peekaru, I would wear it just because it’s so freaking hilarious!

http://www.wouldnotbuythis.com/wp-content/themes/yamidoo/scripts/timthumb.php?src=http://www.wouldnotbuythis.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/electric-face-mask.jpg&w=190&h=115&zc=1Of course, no birthday of mine would be complete without one of these: The Rejuvinique. A mask that’s supposed to reduce the appearance of wrinkles with the help of a 9-volt battery strapped to your face. Um what? Hello? As I mentioned earlier this week…WHAT IS WRONG WITH PEOPLE? A mask that’s supposed to reduce the appearance of wrinkles with the help of a 9-volt battery strapped to your face. Yes, I needed to repeat that. Not only is it creepy – the ad actually says you can also use it as a Halloween mask. That should indicate to any normal-thinking consumer that if something can be used to frighten others, perhaps this is not the best beauty treatment, eh? I would seriously buy the other 4 products, but this? This is sheer madness.

What’s so wrong with wrinkles, anyway? Okay, it’s easy for me to say this because I’m chubby and all my wrinkles are poofed out. But I am happy to be where I am, even if it meant wrinkles, I am happy to announce I have crinkles though. The ones around the eyes adds just a bit of character, I think. I am happy and feel blessed with a large family (including nieces and nephews). Of course, I’d be even happier with a ‘liposucker’ too. Please make a note of it.

Tell Me What You Think...

