The Processor and The Stripper

 

I knew that title kinda’ grabbed your attention.

It’s a food post folks, don’t get all nutty (pun intended, sorry). Smile, it won’t hurt, I promise.

As a gift this summer I was given a Kitchen Aid Food Processor! Yipeeee – and that’s not being sarcastic…like I’ve mentioned previously I am a foodie and I love to experiment and come up w/ fabulous delicacies…I’ve managed until now without a food processor, but I’ve seen how quickly food can be chopped and sliced and completely destroyed (in a good way) on TV and now I can do this from my very own kitchen.

There are soooo many attachments though and the instruction manual is just okay. So I’ve been trying some of the pieces out. I feed a lot of people and the bucket is slightly too small for the quantities I make, so I may just need to experiment with snacks and desserts…maybe a homemade slushy!

So I’ve been processing. There are no more babies in the house and everyone (except for the 7 yr. old) has most of their teeth. No one needs anything pureed, but that has not stopped me! This is a gorgeous piece of machinery  – I even like just looking at it.

Now at my bridal shower I was given loads of kitchen items. Things to cook with, things to cook on, things to mix with things to open cans and bottles with, things to wear while cooking…the list goes on and on. The one thing I never thought I’d have at my shower, being a religious and modest Jew was a stripper. MmmHmm, I said a stripper. ha-ha. Not THAT kind.

The Stripper was a peeler of sorts. It was supposed to peel apples and potatoes, BUT it never actually did, unless the fruit or veg was completely round, which it never actually was. Don’t get me wrong, I love kitchen gadgets, especially ones that actually work – I have a whole drawer full of them. I continue to be hopeful and purchase one garlic press after another – I feel I am never strong enough for these tools and end up purchasing the already chopped garlic in the fridge section at the market. The melon ballers are my favorites – I have a few in various sizes, and I rarely use any of them. Every once in a while I’ll have the patience to actually go through a watermelon and ball it all, then lamely attempt to make a basket out of the carcass. I should blog about Food Gone Wrong! They need to make a reality show for people who are clueless about food and kitchen gadgetry – see who mucks it up the worst – that would be hilarious!

I’m a fan of the kitchy stuff , I get it, think they are cute ideas, but generally stay away from buying them, like the Mickey Mouse Ears pancake/eggs mold or the Darth Vader Toast Imprinter. These are real things, I kid you not. Of course, they are not as fun as saying I own a stripper but then you really shouldn’t say that in certain circles.

I’m interested in experimenting so if you’d like to journey with me feel free to offer up ideas on what I can process and I’ll try to post pictures of the finished products, the good, the bad and the ugly!

Just leave your suggestions below!

 

2 comments

Tell Me What You Think...

