Where’s The Beef?

https://i2.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/8/89/Clara_Peller_publicity_headshot.jpg/237px-Clara_Peller_publicity_headshot.jpgHere is our beloved Clara that made the phrase, “Where’s The Beef?” famous. What I loved about her was that I didn’t think she was acting…I think she was being naturally funny. The truth is she looks like the quintessential bubbe. What bubbe doesn’t like a little corned beef on rye?

Every major Jewish holiday there is a custom to cook a dish made of beef, red meat, or as the young guys call it, basar, (sounds like busser), which means meat in Hebrew.

My house is permeating with the smell of corned beef, which I’ve only made once before, and it was a while ago so I’ve gotten some advice from one of my oldest friends…she rocks in the kitchen and has really been there for me recently so here’s hoping with my fingers crossed that this turns out ok. There is no alternative plan…jumping without a parachute? Perhaps, but there will be soup and sides and dessert, no one will starve. There’s enough babka to fill their tummies!

I have already made sweet and sour meatballs, I’ve made a french roast and I have in mind to make stuffed cabbage later this week! While discussing on FaceBook, my corned beef boiling needs, said friend told me of a really yummy glaze, which I had all the ingredients for except apple cider vinegar.

I just used up the last of it a few weeks ago for the Bar MItzvah for this amazing citrus-y salad dressing….so I sent a message to our neighborhood email list and I received NINE responses with offers, NINE! Do I live in an amazing neighborhood? Yes, I do. Of course, it goes beyond my apple cider vinegar needs. No matter what anyone posts, there is a general quick response time, whether it’s to pray for someone’s relative or friend, to help pick up children waiting and stranded because mommy or daddy got stuck in traffic AGAIN, or needing to borrow mattresses, hammers, glue-guns…the list goes on and on. We are here for one another and it’s a daily reminder for me to appreciate the here and now. From the smallest things like 3 TBS of apple cider vinegar to the largest ones, please pray for my wife.

I love where I live, I’ve said it a billion times and I’ll say it again. When choosing a place to live 6  (7?) years ago, there was not much to see, and I didn’t really know anyone that was here or planning on moving here. I went based on intuition, reputation and a weird spiritual (which doesn’t happen often) moment. I put my faith in G-d and sometimes that’s all there is to do.

While praying for my friend with cancer, and praying for my great-niece that she come off the respirator, and that my student’s father who went for brain surgery comes out healthy, I have had a lot of serious-time with G-d. I want Him to hear my prayers and I have even the slightest bit of hope that my little part contributes to those that are more devout than me. We all want the same things out of life, and we ask Him daily (in our own way, sometimes) to hear and answer our requests.

We want a healthy, happy family. We want to be successful in our employment or studies. We want to create a stress-free lifestyle so that we can enjoy vacations and holidays. We want to grow old with our mates and see the fruits of our labor, thrive and multiply and flourish.

We plant seeds and hope they take root.

https://i0.wp.com/bubbewisdom.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Round_Challah.jpgWe also boil corned beef and hope it comes out tender and yummy. My entire house smells of laundry and corned beef…it’s so very tempting…the worst is, I am about to also bake Challah bread…my olfactory senses are going to go bonkers.

I truly enjoy the holiday we are entering. It’s called Sukkot, or the Feast of Tabernacles (Booths). I wish we could come up with a catchier name for it. It’s such a fun holiday where everyone builds this ‘booth’ or hut or 3-4 walled temporary fixture on their porches and gardens and basically eat, sleep and entertain in it for a week. Kids decorate with paper chains and in Israel…weird but true, Christmas lights…and plastic fruit and “garbage-art” that comes back from daycare and well there is bunch of other items that are involved but I am not doing it justice, and will probably make it sound more bizarre than I already have for someone who has never been inside a sukkah before.

With only minus 3 hours to go, my house smells amazing, and my tummy and inner Clara voice is screaming, “Where’s The Beef”?

One comment

Tell Me What You Think...

