Cacophony [kuh-kof-uh-nee]

I. Love. Words.  I love reading, I love playing word games.  Sometimes, now that I have international friends, the same word has different meanings as well as pronunciations.

Tomayto/tomahto… Brits/Aussies/S. Africans  vs Americans…in the last few days 2 funny words have come across in conversation and to be honest, I was sort of egged on to write about it, but the more I’ve been repeating these words over and over again I WANTED to write about it.

The first word was cacophony: Definition: noise, discord. (I think I’ve heard it as khakiphonie). My children are experts in creating cacophony.  I wonder if I used that correctly.

The second word was charades: Definition: pretense. (but I’d say sherayds, he says charrods). Know-it-alls sure sound like they are playing charades. That one doesn’t really sound right – I bet I used it wrong.

I am so pedestrian, I don’t think I’ve ever even uttered these words in a regular sentence, but if I did I would pronounce them very differently, being bourgeois and from Brooklyn and all. I find more often than not, with lots of English-speakers -non Americans- that “fancy” words are used in their vernacular. Let’s take the word ‘lovely’ for instance.  I generally do not use this word, but there is a gentleman I know from somewhere in England who uses it often. My mother-in-law who is 80 yrs. old uses this word, I think it befits her generation. Another favorite word is ‘brilliant’. I want to start using it like the Brits do, but I don’t want to seem pretentious.

The list goes on.

Buggy was a word my 3-year-olds used to describe ants and mosquitoes and bumble-bees.

Bin was a plastic tub used for extra toys.

Bloody was just bloody from a boo-boo and needed a band-aid, not a plaster.

Plaster is used in construction.

Cheeky is what I want to eat all day on a chubby baby.

Bum is a homeless guy, not an arse, which means a jerk….aaaah!

It can be frustrating and enlightening all at the same time.  I have a decent vocabulary thanks to Scrabble, Words With Friends and  one of those games on Yahoo…plus I even read sometimes.

I’ve always been drawn to words and synonyms and thesauruses and dictionaries and those magnets that are fractured sentences…the list goes on. I love anagrams and abbreviations. Often during a meeting at work when the topic does not apply specifically to me, I’ll end up picking a long word and then scrambling letters around until I have a list of smaller words found from the main word. I used to write poems and even wrote a rap once…a tale for another day, perhaps. I was an editor of the high school ‘newspaper’  and even was published once in some kind of school literary project.  OOh yay me…and now I write a blog. I must be a pro. Not really.

Slammed (Slammed, #1)I just love certain words and how they seem to roll off your tongue. NOT like cacophony, but more like elocution and symphony. I am currently reading a book on poetry slamming.  I read 200 pages in 2 days – that’s a lot for someone with a full-time job and kids and dishes and laundry…the best part? I never felt sleepy.  I want to get to the end of the story but I don’t want it to end…that’s a good book in my opinion. It’s brilliant.  (see, I used my British accent there).

Well, I’ve sufficiently ranted enough and leave you with some questions, a challenge, if you will. *funny side-note, WordPress has highlighted ‘if you will’ and is suggesting I switch it for “I’m begging you” – I hadn’t realized my plea sounded so desperate!

Answer these questions:

What is your favorite word?

What is your least favorite word?

What is the funniest word you’ve heard? *see, I’m still a poet (wink)

 

Tell Me What You Think...

